How Many Episodes Are in American Horror Story?

5/5 - (1 vote)

Are you a fan of American Horror Story? This popular TV series has captivated audiences with its unique blend of horror, suspense, and captivating storylines. Whether you’re a seasoned viewer or someone new to the show, one question that may arise is, “How many episodes are in American Horror Story?” In this article, we will explore the episode count of this thrilling anthology series and provide you with all the information you need.

Understanding American Horror Story

Before delving into the episode count, let’s take a moment to understand what American Horror Story is all about. Created by Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk, this critically acclaimed series first premiered in 2011. What sets American Horror Story apart is its anthology format, where each season stands alone as a self-contained story with its unique setting, characters, and plot.

Exploring the Different Seasons

American Horror Story has been delighting viewers with its captivating and often chilling seasons. Each season is a standalone entity, offering a fresh storyline and unique characters. From haunted houses to asylums, witches to freak shows, the show explores a wide range of horror themes.

Let’s take a brief look at each season:

  1. Murder House: This debut season introduces us to the world of American Horror Story. Set in a haunted house in Los Angeles, it follows the Harmon family as they encounter supernatural phenomena.

  2. Asylum: Set in the 1960s, this season takes place in an insane asylum run by the Catholic Church. It delves into the dark secrets of the institution and the horrors faced by its patients.

  3. Coven: Centered around a coven of witches in New Orleans, this season explores the power struggles and supernatural occurrences within the witching community.

  4. Freak Show: Step right up into a 1950s Florida carnival freak show. This season showcases the lives of the performers, their struggles, and the dark secrets hiding beneath the big top.

  5. Hotel: Welcome to the Hotel Cortez, a haunted hotel in Los Angeles. This season introduces us to the eerie and mysterious world of the hotel’s guests and staff.

  6. Roanoke: Inspired by the lost colony of Roanoke, this season blends documentary-style storytelling with supernatural horror, taking us on a terrifying journey.

  7. Cult: Set in the aftermath of the 2016 U.S. presidential election, this season explores the rise of a cult and the psychological effects it has on its members.

  8. Apocalypse: Merging characters from previous seasons, this season combines the worlds of Murder House and Coven as it delves into the aftermath of a nuclear apocalypse.

  9. 1984: Paying homage to 1980s slasher films, this season takes us to a summer camp plagued by a serial killer and supernatural forces.

Read More:   What Network Does American Horror Story Come On: Unveiling the Channel Behind the Chills

With each season having its unique storyline, American Horror Story continues to push the boundaries of horror television.

Season-by-Season Episode Count

Now, let’s dive into the number of episodes each season of American Horror Story offers. It’s important to note that the episode count may vary from season to season, with some seasons having more episodes than others.

  1. Murder House: This chilling debut season consists of 12 episodes, introducing us to the twisted world of American Horror Story.

  2. Asylum: With a total of 13 episodes, Asylum takes us on a haunting journey through the depths of madness and despair.

  3. Coven: This bewitching season offers 13 episodes, allowing viewers to immerse themselves in the world of witches and their dark magic.

  4. Freak Show: Step right up for 13 episodes filled with the wonders and horrors of the carnival freak show.

  5. Hotel: Check into the Hotel Cortez for 12 episodes of supernatural encounters and spine-chilling mysteries.

  6. Roanoke: This season offers a shorter, but intense, experience with 10 episodes that will leave you on the edge of your seat.

  7. Cult: With 11 episodes, Cult explores the psychological impact of a dangerous cult and its charismatic leader.

  8. Apocalypse: Combining the worlds of Murder House and Coven, this season consists of 10 thrilling episodes.

  9. 1984: This nostalgic throwback to 80s slasher films offers 9 episodes of blood, scares, and suspense.

As you can see, the episode count varies from season to season, giving viewers a diverse range of storytelling experiences.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Now, let’s address some frequently asked questions related to the episode count of American Horror Story:

Read More:   How to Buy a House in GTA 5 Story Mode: A Comprehensive Guide

Q: How many episodes are in the first season of American Horror Story?
A: The first season, Murder House, consists of 12 episodes, each filled with spine-tingling horror and suspense.

Q: Are all seasons of American Horror Story the same length?
A: No, the episode count varies from season to season. Some seasons have 13 episodes, while others have fewer.

Q: How many episodes are planned for future seasons?
A: The number of episodes planned for future seasons of American Horror Story is not set in stone. Each season’s episode count is determined by the creators and the story they wish to tell.


In conclusion, American Horror Story offers viewers a captivating and chilling journey through its anthology format. With each season having its unique storyline and setting, the number of episodes can vary. From Murder House to 1984, each season brings a fresh dose of horror and suspense. So, the next time you find yourself wondering, “How many episodes are in American Horror Story?” remember to check the specific season you’re interested in and prepare yourself for a thrilling and unforgettable viewing experience.

Back to top button